Grab the Wheel or Ride the Rails

A senior associate told me that first-years don’t bring in clients.  I tried anyway.  Another one told me that I was wasting good billing time revising marketing materials with our recruiting team.  I did it anyway.  Everyone tells me I should do as many different kinds of work for as many different partners as possible.  I do the work I like for the partners I like. 

I’m not trying to play Rebel Without A Cause here.  But I am determining my own experience.  My career and my life are my own.  There are certain things I like doing and want to do more of and get better at.  So I do those things as much as I can within the realm of the acceptable.  And when that realm becomes too confining, I’ll make some decisions.

No matter what situation you find yourself in, you have to determine your own experience or someone will do it for you.  And once someone puts you on a track of their choosing it’s hard to get off.  This isn’t to say that you should refuse to do anything you don’t like doing; that’s just unrealistic.  But if you’re consistently passing up opportunities that you want to pursue because they don’t jive with someone else’s expectations, you’re running a serious risk of riding the rails into a life you don’t want.

2 Comments

Filed under Career

2 responses to “Grab the Wheel or Ride the Rails

  1. “No matter what situation you find yourself in, you have to determine your own experience or someone will do it for you.”
    That is so true. And it’s a natural inclination, to give someone directives who is somehow less experienced. I saw this in myself when I began to work with small children, how I felt compelled to interfere unnecessarily, just because I am an adult. In actuality, children need only moderate assistance, usually of the “I’m too small to physically do this” variety, and will ask for it when they do.

    I find this in the comedy world, I’ve been given tons of bad advice, but bad advice that worked for somebody somewhere at some time. I’ve also taken some of that advice too seriously to my detriment. I’m still getting comfortable that I really do know what I’m doing and the thing about being a comedian is offering my own unique POV. I still have mentors, but I only incorporate suggestions that “click” with me.

  2. Pingback: The Holy Grail « Kom@to$e

Leave a Reply

